Regional Public Journalism
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Familiar Faces To Hold Leadership Posts In Oregon Legislature

Joe Wolf
Flickr -

When the 2017 Oregon legislature convenes in January, there will be familiar faces in most of the key leadership posts. Democrats hold a majority in both chambers, which means they can effectively choose who holds the gavel.

In the Senate, Democrats will nominate Peter Courtney of Salem for his record-setting eighth term as Senate President. Portland Democrat Ginny Burdick will return as Senate majority leader. The Republicans haven't chosen their leader for 2017 yet. Ted Ferrioli of John Day has held that role for the past decade.

In the House, Democrats will nominate Portlander Tina Kotek as Speaker. It would be Kotek's third term at the dais. She'd become the first lawmaker to serve as Oregon House Speaker for three consecutive terms since Vera Katz did in the 1980s.

Jennifer Williamson of Portland will return as House Majority Leader and Mike McLane of Powell Butte will return as House Minority Leader.